A Jewel In the Book of Luke

While reading the story of Jesus’ birth from the Book of Luke with my grandson, the Lord presented me with a “golden nugget” that I would like to share.  I have been taught to pay close attention to the words that I speak.  I have done studies on the impact that the words of our mouth has on our lives, in respect to related scriptures from the Old and the New Books.  I get the “rudder” on the ship scripture and have spent many an hour contemplating “life and death is in the power of the tongue.”  I take this very seroiusly and am acutely aware of the attention required in bridling the tongue, an art few have mastered.

This is why I am so compelled to revisit Zacharias and Elizabeth in the Book of Luke.  We are told in ch 1 vs 5,6,  that Zacharias was a priest (Tribe of Levi), that Elizabeth was of the daughters of Aaron, and that both were righteous before G-d.  The Word goes on to tell of His temple duties, to which he was attending when the Angel of the Lord appeared to him with the news that his prayers were heard and that he and Elizabeth would bear a son.

Notice Zacharias’ reply!   Verse 18: And Zacharias said unto the angel, Whereby shall I know this? for I am an old man, and my wife well stricken in years.  Finally, I am at the  exciting part!  The keyword here is said! He spoke in line with his unbelief!  His words did not agree with G-d’s words as delivered by Gabriel!

Zacharias was struck dumb and not until the birth of John did he speak again.  You see?  When we fail to agree with the Word of G-d with our mouth and when we speak unbelief, we actually empower Hell!  Had Zacharias not been struck dumb, his words would have impacted the resulting miracle awaiting him; The birth of John the Baptist!

I trust that this will bless you as much as it did me and also that it act as a reminder to guard our words, bringing them into captivity to the Word.

Peace/Shalom

One thought on “A Jewel In the Book of Luke

Leave a comment